Impressionists: Claude Monet

This week Charlotte and I dove into Impressionism with our art class. Impressionism was an art movement in Paris that began with Edouard Manet in the late 19th century. This style was primarily distinguished by new usage of bright colors, light and quick brush work. Their aim was to create an impression of a captured moment in contemporary life.

One of the worlds most famous Impressionists whose paintings I saw at the Courtauld Gallery was Claude Monet. I was immediately drawn to his works because they were different than most of the other works I have been seeing in the galleries our class attends. In particular, his painting Vase of Flowers, really intrigued me. From the subject matter, one would think that this painting would simple, but I found myself examining this picture for a while. My interest was sparked by the structure created by his brushwork. The lines of the painting seemed to blend together. Unlike usual paintings which aim to create a sense of reality, like a still photograph, the objects of this painting were blurred and undefined. This picture had a sense of fuzziness that I had never seen before. Another thing that stuck me about this painting was the usage of color. Monet dabbed on bright colors to create the flowers. The reds and pinks he used contrast the cool colors of the rest of the paintings. Multiple colors are used for the table and background, with strokes of yellows, greens and blues. At first, I was so taken back by how different the painting style was that I disliked the painting. But the more I looked at it, the more I appreciated how playful Monet was with his colors and brush strokes. The not so simple Vase of Flowers definitely made an impression on me.


Kasey & Charlotte

Leave a comment